My debut

20 12 2009

As this is my debut innings in the world of blogging I would like to welcome you all to my blog and say that i hope you all enjoy what i have to say….. I intend to update this at least once a day or at least whenever anything interesting has happened in the world of sport. Its still unclear to me where this blog is going to end up having its primary focus although with cricket and rugby being my major interests in life, an educated guess would be to start with them and see where the journey takes us.

Firstly I would like to talk cricket. We have had a very interesting few days of cricket occurring in both South Africa and Australia over the last few days. I originally had the Windies down as losing their series 3-0 and being outplayed all across the board. This didn’t happen (although at 2-0 it was close…), and given a better use of the review system (which I hate by the way) they may even have clinched this final test match. Either way lets hope this is a sign that Windies cricket is not doomed and the Kings of Cool can rise again. (There is little doubt in my mind that Chris Gayle is the coolest cricketer on the planet with the possible exception of Kumar Sangakarra who single handedly is keeping SL immune from the effects of global warming).

Now with England and South Africa battling it out at Centurion it is a different matter. The Proteas need to smash England to justify their claims to be the Test number number one nation and England need to prove that actually the Ashes wasn’t a fluke and they deserve to be up their and challenging for a top 2 slot.

With Morkel removing Strauss last night and England needing 353 to win with 9 wickets in hand I suspect that England will be all out for about 210 sometime just after tea. I am going to put 2 bets on this match today – one that if we win England’s top scorer will be a South African and if we lose that Jimmy Anderson will be our top scorer. Good odds on the second one in particular….. Unlikely but i have seen old Jimmy blossom into a dependable and underrated player. Just ask Ricky Ponting.

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 12 2009
Chris Allen

Some great comments, indeed Jim should get the job, just a matter of time. So, nothing on football? Your view on Owen would be good? Hughes, fair or unjust? I await your comments.

23 12 2009
Bradders

Indeed Chris. I will endeavour to cover some football activities just for you…

Leave a Reply

